Employment Law Alliance Webinar: Navigating New Legal Developments on Same-Sex Marriage, Transgender Rights, and Pregnancy Discrimination

September 16, 2015

Navigating New Legal Developments on Same-Sex Marriage, Transgender Rights, and Pregnancy Discrimination: What Employers Need to Know

Local Starting Times:
3:00 - 4:30 p.m. U.S. EDT
2:00 - 3:30 p.m. U.S. CDT
1:00 - 2:30 p.m. U.S. MDT
12:00 - 1:30 p.m. U.S. PDT
9:00 - 10:30 a.m. HAST

In the past year, gay marriage, transgender individuals, and pregnancy rights were at the forefront of discussion in Congress, the Supreme Court, federal agencies, and state and local legislatures.  While some consensus has emerged, these politically divisive issues and the patchwork quilt of laws surrounding them continue to present practical and legal challenges for employers all across North America.  What real-world effect will recent Supreme Court decisions on gay marriage and pregnancy discrimination have on your workplace?  What precautions must you take with a transgender employee?  Are the laws the same in every state or in every city? This webinar brings together legal experts from across the U.S. – and one from Canada to provide comparisons between the two countries – who will offer insight on:

  • The transitioning legal landscape of transgender rights in the workplace
  • Practical tips for accommodating transgender employees
  • Key issues facing employers regarding same-sex marriage and employment
  • The most recent developments in the law regarding pregnancy discrimination  and best practices for the treatment of pregnant workers

Who Should Attend?
The webinar is an invitation-only event exclusively for clients of ELA member law firms. The information presented will be of particular interest to:

  • In-house Counsel
  • Human Resources Professionals
  • Corporate Executives and Business Owners

Speakers
Daniel H. Handman, Moderator, Hirschfeld Kraemer, Santa Monica, CA
Jennifer S. Divine, Miller Nash Graham & Dunn, Seattle, WA
Michael S. Glassman, Dinsmore & Shohl, Cincinnati, OH
Ashley S. Kelly, Arnall Golden Gregory, Atlanta, GA
Erin Kuzz, Sherrard Kuzz, Toronto, Ontario
Shelby S. Skeabeck, Shawe & Rosenthal, Baltimore, MD
Parker E. Thoeni, Shawe & Rosenthal, Baltimore, MD

About the Employment Law Alliance
The Employment Law Alliance is the most comprehensive network of labor and employment attorneys in the world.  Our members provide employment, labor, and immigration expertise in more than 135 countries around the globe and all 50 U.S. states. They work closely together to ensure that their clients’ legal matters are handled seamlessly wherever they do business. We provide a smarter, more efficient and effective alternative to using a single multi-state or multi-national law firm. For more information about the ELA, please visit: www.employmentlawalliance.com.