Employment Law Alliance Webinar: A Year in Review

January 27, 2016

A Year in Review: Key U.S. Labor and Employment Law Developments in 2015 and What to Expect in 2016

Free 90-minute Webinar

Local Start Times
3:00 - 4:30 p.m. EST
2:00 - 3:30 p.m. CST
1:00 - 2:30 p.m. MST
12:00 - 1:30 p.m. PST
10:00 - 11:30 a.m. HAST

There were significant labor and employment developments in the U.S. during 2015 and we expect to see at least as much action in 2016. This webinar will provide a national perspective on the following topics:

  • EEO developments: increased protections for women – particularly pregnant employees and new mothers – along with higher expectations for accommodating religious practices and disabilities.
  • The newest wage and hour claims being pursued and practical tips for avoiding the most common mistakes when calculating hours worked and wages owed.
  • Tactics being utilized by businesses to misappropriate trade secrets and steal away key personnel from competitors – practical strategies you can employ to minimize these problems.
  • How the NLRB is flexing its muscles to aid with unionization and what you can do right now to help maintain your non-union status.
  • Continued legal and media attacks on the use of independent contractors and the outsourcing of management functions – how you can avoid being the next poster child of worker “exploitation.”

Who Should Attend?
The webinar is an invitation-only event exclusively for clients of ELA member law firms.  The information presented will be of particular interest to:

  • In-house Counsel
  • Human Resources Professionals
  • Corporate Executives and Business Owners

Speakers

  • John F. Baum Moderator, Hirschfeld Kraemer, San Francisco, CA
  • G. Joseph Curley, Gunster, Yoakley & Stewart, West Palm Beach, FL
  • Francine Esposito, Day Pitney, Parsippany, NJ
  • Sarah L. Ford, Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein, Raleigh, NC
  • Eliza Kaiser, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel, New York, NY
  • Susan E. Stahlfeld, Miller Nash Graham & Dunn, Seattle, WA