Peter Jones to Present at Employment Law Alliance Webinar

September 12, 2016

By: Peter A. Jones

What the NLRB Ruling on Student Assistants Means for Private Colleges and Universities

Employment Law Alliance Webinar
Local Starting Times
3 - 4 p.m. U.S. EDT
2 - 3 p.m. U.S. CDT
1 - 2 p.m. U.S. MDT
12 - 1 p.m. U.S. PDT
9 - 10 a.m. HAST

In a significant decision that overrules existing precedent, the National Labor Relations Board has ruled that student assistants employed by private colleges and universities at both the graduate and undergraduate levels are "employees" ” for the purposes of union organizing and collective bargaining. This is a sweeping change with wide-ranging implications for these institutions. Join an interactive discussion featuring experienced higher education and labor attorneys who submitted an amicus brief in this matter to get a better understanding of the key issues, including:

  • What happened in the Columbia University case? 
  • What does the NLRB ruling mean for higher education?
  • What should private colleges and universities do now?

Who Should Attend?
The webinar is an invitation-only event exclusively for clients of ELA member law firms. The information presented will be of particular interest to:

  • Provosts/Vice Presidents for Academic Affairs and Academic Deans
  • In-house Counsel
  • Presidents
  • Human Resources Professionals and Employee Relations Specialists

Speakers
D. Shane Jones, Moderator, Tueth Keeney Cooper Mohan & Jackstadt, Edwardsville, IL
Natasha J. Baker, Hirschfeld Kraemer, San Francisco, CA
Peter A. Jones, Bond Schoeneck & King, Syracuse, NY
Mark S. Mathison, Gray Plant Mooty, Minneapolis, MN